Home Forums 360° Virtual Tours Accessories for Nikon D850 – 360 Tour

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Sam Rohn 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Siddharth Kumar
    Siddharth Kumar
    Forum Member
    • Forum Posts: 3

Hello, I’m just getting into creating 360 degree virtual tours. After doing a lot of research on the net (including IVRPA), I have few queries:

1. Pano Head
      a. Should I go with the NN6 or NN3 for a D850 + Fish Eye Lens combination? I’ve read that the NN3 is made for smaller DSLRs and compact cameras but will it be sufficient for the D850?
      b. NN3 – if this is sufficient will the NN3 MK3 + Nadir Adapter w/ Lower Rotator Mini Pkg (F3302) combination do the job?
      c. NN6 – if I have to go with this, can I use this with the Lower Rotator Mini instead of the Lower Rotator D10?

2. Fish Eye Lens
      a. Would the Samyang 8mm f/3.5 HD Fisheye Lens with Removable Hood be a good option to use with the D850?

Sam Rohn
    IVRPA Member
    IVRPA Director
    webmaster
    • Forum Posts: 307
    • ★★★★

NN6 is better for larger DSLR like D850, NN3 is good for smaller DSLR or mirrorless camera

full size RD10 rotator will be better also, D850 is a heavy camera and RD10 will be more stable vs mini rotator

https://shop.nodalninja.com/nn6-starter-pkg-f6001/

if you are using a fisheye in single row (no up or down shots) you can use NN R10 with lens ring, this is smaller and lighter vs NN3 or NN6, but you cannot shoot multi-row panos with this head

https://shop.nodalninja.com/r1-w-rd5-adj-tilt-pkg-f6120v/

samyang 8mm is ok, but you will not be getting the most out of D850 with that lens, nikkor 8-15mm fisheye is best fisheye lens for panos on full frame nikon, 12mm on that lens gives the max resolution for single row panos with fisheye lens, 8mm circular fisheye on either lens has lots of black area around circle so wasted pixels